October 2023

The start proper of a new season! We opened with the month with our AGM, thanks to all who attended and particularly to Peter McGow and James Laidlaw who delivered really interesting talks for us. The business of the Lodge and planning for the tercentenary in great shape and we’re very lucky to have a team dedicated to looking after all of us. We’ll start talking soon about how more of us can be explicitly involved in the exciting calendar ahead of us. We also welcomed this month a new Brother into the Lodge – thank you everyone who took a part on the floor on what was a really wonderful night.

We also had a wonderful deputation to support Lewis Young who received honorary membership of Dalhousie Bonnyrigg 720 – a great number in attendance!

I also attended the Lodge of Edinburgh (Mary’s Chapel) No. 1 charity dinner with my sister. We were well looked after on the top table by the RWM of that Lodge who is a dear friend.

I also attended the Esk 42 Royal Arch Chapter installation in my RWM regalia. I’m a Principal in my RA Chapter and it was quite a thrill attending a meeting in different regalia. I am ever so grateful to the members of the Chapter for making it such a special night and giving me the great honour of judging the winner of the trifle competition. Congratulations Andy.

I also attended the Lodge Penicuik 429 Ball – a guest of the RWM, another dear friend who had organised a really splendid night.

In other visits this month, a return to Lodge Dalhousie Bonnyrigg 720, Lodge Kirkliston Maitland 482, Lodge St Leonards Loanhead and Lasswade 580, Lodge Canongate Kilwinning 2, Lodge St John Corstorphine 788, Lodge Sir Robert Moray and finally Provincial Grand Lodge of Midlothian and Grand Lodge of Scotland communications. It was wonderful in particular to hear who the new Grand Master Mason will be. I’m very much looking forward to November!


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started